Ghana’s Minister for Foreign Affairs and Regional Integration, Honourable Hanna S. TETTEH, MP, arrived on Wednesday 10th September, 2014, in Paris, France, for an official visit at the invitation of her counterpart, Mr. Laurent FABIUS. A dinner was hosted in her honour by Her Excellency Ambassador Johanna SVANIKIER, the Ambassador of Ghana to France and Mr. Thomas SVANIKIER for ECOWAS Ambassadors to France and ECOWAS Permanent Delegates to UNESCO, as well as Officials of the French Foreign Ministry and the Ghana Mission in Paris on Thursday, 11th September, 2014.

The Honourable Minister in an address to the gathering indicated that ECOWAS has become one of the most dynamic institutions in Africa and has succeeded in moving the integration agenda faster than other regions in spite of the differences in language, legal and administrative systems. She underscored the economic opportunities that exist in the West African Region and encouraged other ECOWAS members to follow Ghana’s example as one of the most reliable financial contributors to the Organization.
The Honourable Hanna TETTEH discussed the outbreak of the Ebola disease, which she described as the greatest challenge for the sub-region this year.

She described the safety mechanisms that Ghana has put in place for screening to avoid the spread of the disease and explained to the gathering that Ghana has become the Logistics Coordination Centre for Ebola response in the West African Region.

The Honourable Minister informed her audience, that ECOWAS was the first African Integrated Region to endorse the Economic Partnership Agreement, EPA, with the European Union. She expressed her conviction that the agreement represents a fair and mutually profitable platform for trade between ECOWAS and the EU adding that the details of the EPA had been very carefully considered in order to ensure that developing countries suffer no disadvantage in its implementation.

The Minister expressed the need for free, fair and transparent elections in the five ECOWAS Nations, which will go to the polls in 2015, namely, Nigeria, Togo, Burkina Faso, Côte d’Ivoire and Guinea Conakry.
She advised that, in order to overcome security challenges, the region should be more effective in sharing information as well as deepen the integration of its systems. She highlighted the need for ECOWAS countries to learn and speak each other’s languages in order to strengthen and promote regional cooperation.

Peter Ankomah, Deputy Editor of The Daily Dispatch. © UNESCOPeter Ankomah, Deputy Editor of The Daily Dispatch. © UNESCO In a gesture of solidarity by an African news organization, Allied News Ltd of Ghana made a symbolic contribution to the International Programme for the Development of Communication (IPDC). This was announced yesterday by Peter Ankomah, Deputy Editor of The Daily Dispatch – a newspaper in the Allied News Ltd stable.
Ankomah made the announcement during the ongoing IPDC Bureau meeting at the UNESCO Headquarters in Paris.

He explained: “We recognize the importance of the IPDC in building journalists’ capacity in elections reporting. We thus consider our contribution as part of our effort at building a partnership with the Programme”.

Read more ...

UNESCO 70th Anniversary Medals

On 27 February, the Director-General of UNESCO, Irina Bokova, presented the UNESCO 70th Anniversary Medal to the President of the Republic of Rwanda, HE Mr Paul Kagame, to the President of the Carlos Slim Foundation, Mr Carlos Slim Helú, and to the Secretary-General of the International Telecommunication Union (ITU), Mr Houlin Zhao, of before the assembled Member States of UNESCO. The award was made in recognition of their leading contribution to harnessing new ICTs for the benefit of all.

Read more ...

Constance Swanikier

8th March marks International Women’s Day. 2015 also marks the 20th anniversary of the World Conference on Women in Beijing. As part of activities commemorating this important occasion, an art exhibition will be held at UNESCO from the 6th to the 13th of March, 2015. The event aims to celebrate the economic, political and social achievements of women across the globe. An artist from Ghana will represent the Sub- Saharan African region. Constance Swaniker, a celebrated sculptor and entrepreneur based in Accra will showcase eight thought provoking pieces highlighting issues that have had an impact on her life, environment and community.

Ms. Swaniker comes from a very diverse background having lived in Ghana, The Gambia, Botswana and Zimbabwe. She studied her craft at the Kwame Nkrumah University of Science and Technology and is a successful entrepreneur and managing director of her own metal work company, Accents and Arts in Accra, Ghana. Her works can be found in upscale hotels, offices, diplomatic missions and private homes around the world. She has won many accolades and awards including “Outstanding Industrial Metal Furniture Firm in Ghana Award" by wAi Africa, The Network Journal Africa under Forty 2010 Achievement Award, Best Entrepreneur SME Innovation Award 2010, VLISCO Be Your Dream Award-2013, Metal Product of the Year 2013 and Regional & Country Winner, Africa’s Most Influential Women in Leadership and Governance-2014. Constance Swaniker's atelier is situated in a deprived area of Accra and in 2013 she was presented with a community service award from its traditional ruler for bringing economic regeneration to the area and giving new skills and jobs to the unemployed youth.

Ms. Swaniker is a stellar example of how a passion can be turned into a successful livelihood. A dedicated mother of two boys, she aspires to being a role model for women and inspiring the youth to live their dreams no matter the challenges.

Contact: Ms. Constance Swaniker, Accents & Art Limited. Website URL:

Email Address: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. Tel: +233 (0)246831715

Embassy of Ghana, Paris, 24thth February 2015


The following categories of persons are exempted from obtaining entry visas to Ghana:

A. ECOWAS CITIZENS: Benin, Burkina Faso, Cape Verde, Cote d'Ivoire, The Gambia, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Liberia, Mali, Niger, Nigeria, Senegal, Sierra Leone and Togo.

B. Holders of Diplomatic/Service Passports of Kenya, Lesotho, Malawi, Namibia, Singapore, South Africa, Tanzania, Trinidad and Tobago, Uganda and Zimbabwe.

C. Holders of Diplomatic/Service Passports of Brazil, Cuba, Germany, Iran, Hong Kong Special Administrative Region (SAR) of China and Namibia.

D. Holders of official passport of the African Union, Regional Economic Communities in Africa, United Nations and its specialised Agencies, IMF, WFP, THE WORLD BANK, and AFRICAN DEVELOPMENT BANK.

E. Persons in direct airside transit.